It is with deep sadness that we announce the peaceful passing of our beloved Founder and Group Chairman Dr. George S.K. Ty.

He was surrounded by family and loved ones at the time. He was 86 years old.

Dr. George S.K. Ty established Metrobank in 1962, he grew the Bank and expanded its reach internationally. He went beyond banking and transformed the Bank into a diverse business conglomerate with successful joint ventures such as Toyota Motor Philippines, AXA Philippines, and Orix Metro Leasing, to name a few. The GT Capital/Metrobank Group counts as its members 18 domestic subsidiaries, partners, and affiliates in various industries and 32 foreign branches, subsidiaries and representative offices.

Dr. Ty has been de facto Chairman Emeritus as early as 2008 as his sons Arthur and Alfred headed the many companies in the Group in his stead. Dr. Ty was recognized not only for his exemplary achievements in business but also for his generous philanthropy through the Metrobank Foundation. His commitment to contribute to the Philippines' economic prosperity as well as to nation-building will continue to be lived by the Group.

"It has been my life's greatest honor to work alongside you towards achieving success for generation after generation. Thank you very much from the bottom of my heart."

  • Profile

    Dr. George Ty Siao Kian (鄭少堅) had been the Chairman Emeritus of GT Capital until his passing in November 2018. He served as GT Capital’s Chairman of the Board since its inception in July 2007 until July 11, 2012. Dr. Ty was also the founder of Metropolitan Bank & Trust Company (MBT), a listed company, and served as its Chairman from 1975 until 2006 when he became Group Chairman of the Metrobank Group of Companies. Dr. Ty graduated from the University of Santo Tomas and received his Doctorate in Humanities, Honoris Causa from the same university. Prior to his passing, he was concurrently the Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. (MBFI) and of the Board of Directors of Toyota Motor Philippines Corporation (TMP).

  • Awards and Citations

    Management Man of the Year 2006 from the Management Association of the Philippines (MAP), 2007

    Order of Lakandula with a rank of Bayani conferred by President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, 2010

    Gawad Lakan ng Kalakalan presented by President Benigno C. Aquino III, 2011

    CEO (Communication Excellence in Organizations) Excel Lifetime Award from the International Association of Business Communicators in 2012

    Grand Exemplar Medallion in 2014

    2017 Ramon V. Del Rosario Award for Nation Building conferred by the Junior Chamber International Manila and the Asian Institute of Management’s Center for Corporate Responsibility

    Order of the Rising Sun, Gold and Silver Star conferred by HM Akihito, Emperor of Japan and Prime Minister Shinzo Abe, 2017

    2018 MVP Bossing Lifetime Achievement Award from PLDT

Back to Top